Saturday, April 15, 2006

More AHL Awards

The AHL has the strange practise of naming its award winners in the final days of the season before the season is actually complete. This is a strange practise because it makes performances at the end of the season completely meaningless for award votes (since the awards have already been given out). I have already reported upon the AHL All Star teams.

Here are the rest of the awards:

Dany Sabourin of Wilkes-Barre/Scranton won the Baz Bastien Award as the best goaltending in the AHL.

Andy Delmore of Syracuse won the Eddie Shore Award as the best defenceman in the AHL.

Patrick O'Sullivan of Houston won the Red Garrett Award as best rookie in the AHL.

Don MacLean of Grand Rapids won the Les Cunningham Award as AHL MVP.

With the exception of O'Sullivan, the award winners are career minor leaguers with little future NHL value.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?